Apply for the West Midlands' first Natural Environment Awards


In Summary

General | 14th December 2022
The first region-wide award scheme dedicated to recognising excellence within organisations in the West Midlands for protecting, restoring and enhancing the natural environment.

In Detail

The annual awards will acknowledge the achievements of organisations and projects across the region, that have showcased their commitment and enthusiasm for creating and improving green and blue spaces, not only for environmental benefits but also for the enjoyment of the local community.

In 2021, the WMCA launched its Natural Environment Plan to work with partners over the next five years to enhance the region’s biodiversity, protect endangered species, and improve access to green spaces and waterways for residents.

The Natural Environment Awards will showcase the region’s good practice and highlight organisations and projects that could be replicated across the region.

The awards aim to inspire others to work towards enhancing and protecting a natural environment.

Why enter the awards?

This is your chance to showcase your fantastic commitment to improving and enhancing the region's natural environment, whether this is through excellent internal policies or individual projects.

The awards are split into four categories:

  • Business
  • Community
  • Public Sector
  • Education

Each category will award one winner and highly commended application who will receive:

  • Professional photos with the Mayor at the awards event.
  • Professional photos with sponsors at the awards event.
  • A physical award to recognise their achievements.
  • Social media announcing the winners and highly commended for each category.
  • A 1-page spread in award winner’s brochure. Highly commended projects shall have a half-page dedicated to their work.
  • Case studies of their work on the WMCA website and shared regionally as good practice examples. Case studies shall be used to promote next year's awards.

How to Apply

Applications are open now until Monday 16 January 2023 at midnight. You can apply for any of the awards through submitting your application below.Download the application guidance which provides support on applying for the awards as well as terms and conditions. APPLY HERE >

The Awards Ceremony

The awards ceremony will take place in-person on Tuesday 21 March 2023 hosted by the sponsors KPMG in Birmingham City Centre. Category winners and highly commended applications will be presented with their awards by Andy Street, Mayor of the West Midlands.